Omicron Variant: Rwanda Bans Flights To Southern African Countries

Rwanda has barred direct flights to and from nine countries in southern Africa, joining a growing list of nations that have imposed travel restrictions over a new, heavily mutated Covid-19 variant. 

READ ALSO, Rwandan YouTuber And Govt Critic Jailed For Seven Years

The new variant, dubbed Omicron, was first reported in South Africa last week, with cases subsequently detected in several countries, and many governments have moved swiftly to reimpose containment measures.

Direct flights between Rwanda and southern Africa will be temporarily suspended “effective immediately,” Prime Minister Edouard Ngirente announced late Sunday.

“While the variant has not been detected in Rwanda, its effects are potentially dangerous,” Ngirente said in a statement, urging extra vigilance.

The countries affected by the ban are Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

All passengers who have arrived from those countries in the past seven days have to spend a week in quarantine, at their own costs, in designated hotels in Rwanda, according to the announcement.

Rwanda, a country of 13 million people, will also reimpose a mandatory 24-hour quarantine for all passengers.

The East African country has enforced some of the strictest containment measures on the continent and implemented a rigorous regime of testing and contact tracing.

READ ALSO; Rwandan Police Arrest YouTubers, Opposition Members For ‘Spreading Rumours

The World Health Organization (WHO) warned Monday that the new variant poses a “very high” risk globally.

Even if the new strain proves to 

Leave a Comment