Edo 2020: INEC releases list of Governorship Candidates, Deputies

Edo 2020: INEC releases list of Governorship Candidates, Deputies

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published a provisional list of candidates of the various political parties participating in the forthcoming September 19, 2020, Edo Governorship election.

The two major parties out of the fourteen participating in the election are the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state and the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read Also: Manchester United defeats Brighton to go fifth

While former Secretary to the State Government (SSG) and 2016 PDP candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu is the APC governorship candidate, incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki is candidate of the PDP.

It was, however, observed that the Omoyele Sowore-led African Action Alliance (AAC) party and name of its governorship candidate, Mrs Edith Isokpan were conspicuously missing. The AAC would have made the list 15.

it was gathered that the AAC failed to meet up with the June 29, 2020 6pm deadline for submission of candidates’ names on INEC’s dedicated online portal, as announced by the Commission.

Out of the 14 Governorship candidates, 13 are male with just 1 female candidate. While 12 deputy governorship candidates are of the male gender, the remaining 2 are females. The youngest candidate is 35 and the oldest 64.

According to the Electoral body, “Particulars of nominated candidates are to be published on INEC’s head office (Edo State) and uploaded on INEC’s website Thursday, July 2,2020.”

See below, a copy of the provisional list obtained, showing academic credentials submitted by the respective governorship candidates and their deputies.

Also, Follow us on Twitter for the latest celebrity news @wotzupNG

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )